Tully Tigers clinch two junior rugby league premierships

The Tully Tigers Under 16 team who won the 2021 FNQ Rugby League Coast competition premiership.

THREE Tully Tigers’ junior rugby league teams featured in the FNQ Coast Grand Finals at Jones Park last Saturday.


Prior to the finals, all three teams were bolstered with messages of support from former Tully Tigers’ juniors Jake Clifford, Thomas Flegler, Jack Campagnolo, Shaun Nona, Benn Campagnolo, and Dylan White.


This small, but proud, rugby league town capped off a stellar season with the Under 15 and Under 16 teams bringing home the Premiership Trophy.


In the Under 15 Grand Final, Tully stormed home with a convincing 28 – 8 win over Cairns Brothers and Ezekiel Ivey was named Player of the Final. 


Cohen Emmi scored a double, whilst Raymond Amosa, Tureti Ryder, and Ezekiel Ivey chipped in with one try apiece, Emmi slotted two conversions, and one by Phoenix Frazer-Cairns.


After leading by 14 – 4 at half time, Tully went on to register a 30 – 20 victory over the Kangaroos in the Under 16 Grand Final. 


Tully’s try scorers were Cameron Nelson 2, Braithan Ketchell, Benjamin Roebuck, and Issac Stagg, whilst Nelson kicked four conversions and one penalty goal.


Braithan Ketchell was presented with the Player of the Final award.


Tully’s Under 13 team was unable to complete the trifecta, as they went down to Edmonton Storm by 32 – 6 in their Grand Final but did their town proud as runners up. 


Miki Toquero was the sole try scorer and Mitchell Davis kicked one conversion.


FNQ Rugby League Coast competition – Grand Final results – September 18


Under 13

Edmonton 36 defeated Tully 6.


Under 14

Cairns Brothers 26 defeated Redlynch 18.


Under 15

Tully 28 defeated Cairns Brothers 8.

Under 16

Tully 30 defeated Kangaroos 20.


Troy Cooper from Innisfail Brothers JRL and Anthony Emmi from Tully Tigers JRL were named as finalists for the FNQ Rugby League Coast competition’s J & H. E. Jones Volunteer of the Year Award. 


The overall winner of the award was Destiny Hogan from Edmonton JRL, whilst Ethan Bain was named the Aspiring Referee of the Year. 


An end of season Gala Day for Under 10 – 12 teams was held a fortnight ago at Jones Park in conjunction with the preliminary finals.


Innisfail Brothers Under 12 team was awarded the Warren Pitt ‘Spirit of Rugby League’ Trophy for having displayed great sportsmanship, unselfish play, and most of all having fun whilst playing footy. 


This Trophy was presented to the team by Warren Pitt’s son, Curtis Pitt, Member for Mulgrave, and Speaker of the Queensland Parliament.

More News