Tully Junior Rugby League awards presentation

Alex Greenwood was presented with the Tully Junior Player of the Year trophy by Dave Scott from Northern Pride and Junior Club President Steven Morice.

TULLY Junior Rugby League recently celebrated a highly successful season and individual achievements at their presentation night held at Tigers Leagues Club, Tully.

There were 160 in attendance, including players, coaches, and parents, who enjoyed dinner before awards were presented in the Under 13 to Under 16 age groups.

The Under 6 to Under 12 age groups received medallions.

Club President Steven Morice took the opportunity to thank the many people who contributed to the club’s successful 2021 season.

He paid homage to sponsors, committee members, referees, coaches, managers, League Safe staff, sports trainers, first aiders, canteen workers, parents, supporters, and all volunteers.

Coaches from each team delivered a speech and commended players on their dedication, efforts, and improvement throughout the year.

Tully Tigers’ Under 13, Under 15, and Under 16 teams played in the FNQ Rugby League Coast competition grand finals at Jones Park, Cairns.

Two of those, the Under 15 and Under 16 teams, won their respective premierships, whilst the Under 13 team finished as runners up, which is an impressive result for the town.

This year’s Tully Tigers representative players were Leo Briggs, Kade Corby, Kaedyn Ketchell, Alex Greenwood, Joey Banu, Clancy Black, Bailee Muriata, Amarri Cassady, Cohen Emmi, Marley Helion, Ezekiel Ivey, Ben Roebuck, Braithan Ketchell, Jason Hallie, Colby Thomson, Cameron Nelson, Jack Lodge, and Isaac Stagg.

Tully Junior Rugby League wished to thank Joanne and the team at Tully Leagues Club for hosting their presentation and providing a great atmosphere, decorations, good food, and friendly service.

Award winners were as follows:


Under 13

Best Forward: Regan Ericson

Best Back: Finn Hawkins

Most Improved: Jake Jackson

Coaches’ Award: Jaxson Taylor

Best and Fairest: Miki Toquero

Under 14

Best Forward: Sipi Sipi

Best Back: Marsat Ketchell

Most Improved: Nicholas Muriata

Coaches’ Award: Travis Gee

Best and Fairest: Ezekiel Ivey

Under 15

Best Forward: Phillip Koppens

Best Back: Marley Helion

Most Improved: Ryley Congoo

Coaches’ Award: Dylan Cunningham

Best and Fairest: Ben Roebuck

Under 16

Best Forward: Colby Thomson

Best Back: Braithan Ketchell

Most Improved: Mitchell Forrest

Coaches’ Award: Jack Lodge

Player’s Player: Jordeas Aruba

Player of the Finals: Cameron Nelson

Player of the Year/Perpetual Trophies

Junior Player of the Year: Alex Greenwood

Player of the Year: Jason Hallie

More News