Piccones Badgers cruise to ninth straight win in T20 Barrier Reef Big Bash cricket tournament

Luke McAvoy starred with the bat for Twomey Schriber Thunder scoring a quick fire 43 runs.

LAST Friday’s opening game in the T20 Barrier Reef Big Bash saw a replay of last year’s final, with the reigning champions Piccones Badgers up against Twomey Schriber Thunder.


The Badgers continued their scintillating form, with a ninth straight win in the first game of the second season.


After batting first, the Thunder posted 7/138. Luke McAvoy led the way at the top and belted 43 runs (38), with excellent contributions from Ben Shrimpton (31) and Joel Sykes (25).


Interestingly, the Badgers used 10 bowlers, with 7 sharing a wicket each. 


A special mention to fast bowler Amy Hunter who picked up a scalp on debut and etched her name in the history books. 


Both teams thought the total was extremely competitive, and the Badgers would have to bat well against a formidable Thunder attack.


That is exactly what Jake Roach did, continuing his rich vein of form with a great captain’s knock. 


With support from Angus Warnock, Roach controlled the innings and dominated the back end of the 20 overs to steer the Badgers home in the 19th over (4 wickets down), with 91 not out from just 50 balls. 


Like the first season, it was a display of high-level cricket from both sides and an all-round entertaining spectacle.


Round 1 result:

Tyrepower T20 Barrier Reef Big Bash

Friday, November 12 – Griffiths Park, Manunda

Piccones Badgers 4/142 (18.4)

(Jake Roach 91*(50); Angus Warnock 17 (30))


Twomey Schriber Thunder 7/138 (20)

(Amy Hunter 1/4 (1); Tajinder Vicky Kumar 1 catch)

Piccones Badgers won by 6 wickets

More News