Local rugby league players nominated for top awards

Innisfail A-grade Captain Robert Haren.

THREE Innisfail Leprechauns A-grade players have been nominated for the coveted Cairns District Rugby League Gold Medal, with the winners to be announced tonight.

Innisfail’s Captain Robert Haren, Aaron Jolley, and Northern Pride contracted player Taulata Fakalelu are the three in contention for the medal.

There are 11 top medal contenders with players from clubs represented and include a mix of seasoned campaigners and emerging talent.

The Gold Medal for A-Grade Best and Fairest Player is decided by a voting system by referees and touch judges on a “3, 2, 1” points basis for each game throughout the season.

These points are then calculated at the end of the regular season to determine those players in the running for the Gold Medal.

Innisfail’s Reserve grade player Colby Roberts has been nominated for the Lionel Williamson Medal.

Rayesha Swain in the Innisfail Open Women’s team is a contender for the Debbie Gallop Medal, whilst Tully Tigers’ Under 18 player, Thomas Busch, is in the running for the Moore Family Medal.

Best and Fairest medals will be awarded in Reserve and Under 18, as well as silver medals for the top Under 16 juniors in the FNQ Rugby League Coast and Eacham competitions. 

The winners will be announced at the Gold Medal gala dinner held at Pullman Cairns International Hotel.

This gala evening is all about recognising and rewarding the achievements of players, coaches, clubs, referees, volunteers, and support staff, who have excelled on and off the field.

More News