Innisfail Ladies’ Bowls


THE Innisfail Ladies’ Bowls Club held their Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, August 11, and Audrey Rackley was appointed Patroness. The members are so pleased she has accepted the position.

The Committee members duly elected for 2021 – 2022 are Diana O’Brien (President), Helen Paterson (Vice President), Ann Rule (Secretary), Pam Anderson (Treasurer), Eileen Hamann (Games Director), and Daphne Kirkman and Bev Anderson (Selectors).

Thirteen ladies took to the green on Wednesday and played two games of social bowls.

Unfortunately, the COVID-19 lockdown in Cairns meant Maisie Smith was not able to play in the final of the Open Singles Championship against Lyn Stevenson. Members are hoping she will return next week.

Pam Anderson, Ann Rule, and Catharina Cook proved too strong for Bev Anderson, Helen Paterson, and Joan Atkinson winning 20 – 12.

Eileen Hamann, Diana O’Brien, Jenny Wordley, and Dianne Wheeler (28) defeated Sue Morrison, Jan Dunn, and Lyn Stevenson (3).

The ladies were sad to say farewell to visitor Jenny Wordley, who is returning to South Australia.

More News