Herbert River Farmers’ League Bursary Presentation

From Left to right. Jazmin Altadonna, Pharmacy JCU; Ava Stanford, Nursing CQU/JCU; and Jayde Bosworth, Faculty of Engineering JCU.

At the recent Herbert River Farmers’ League Incorporated’s Annual Presentation Dinner, three local University students received Bursaries for the length of their selected Tertiary level courses.

The HRFL Inc. is now the sole remaining Farmers’ Group from the early days of Planters’ Clubs etc, representing sugar grower interests in the Herbert Valley. The HRFL was formed in 1897, 124 years ago. After representing Farmers’ Associations namely, The HRF League, The Australian Sugar Producers Association, The Australian Canegrowers Association, until 1977, its then directed its focus towards the education of youth in the valley. In 1986 a decision was made to wind up the company, sixty-three years after its formation, and form a Trust  for educational purposes. 

The present Board of Directors comprises members, both men and women, whose forbears were original members of the HRF League. From 1977 to 1987 the Burdekin Rural College enrolled 17 students and from 1988 to 2021 a total of 93 University Students, making a total of 110 recipients who are pursuing or who have completed tertiary level education. From small beginnings, the League has invested $345,000 in the youth of the Herbert Valley. The hope of the League is that future students from the local area will continue to apply for bursaries.

More News