Boaties brave rough conditions during Innisfail Billfish tournamen

A sailfish tagged by locals Danny Alcock, Charles Camuglia, and Charles Manitto, on the boat, ‘Geronimo.’

ELEVEN boats took part in the annual Innisfail Game Fishing Club’s Billfish Tournament held from August 19 – 21 which saw close to forty anglers vying for impressive prizes and trophies.

Over the three days, the anglers braved wet, windy, and rough conditions and around 13 billfish were tagged and released.

Local boats were Geronimo, Pleiades, Osprey, Gallivant, Let Loose, and Just Winging It. 

Viking 2, Off Tap, Dun Deal, and Miss Nic were boats from Cairns and Keep’r was from Airlie Beach.

A skipper briefing followed by a barbecue dinner and Calcutta at Innisfail Bowls Club kicked off the event on Wednesday, with breakfast, lunch, and dinner packs provided by Mourilyan Bakery and Roscoes Piazza.

After the final day of fishing on Saturday, a dinner event was held at Innisfail Bowls Club, followed by the award presentations. 

At the end of each fishing day, weigh-ins needed to take place before the allocated time, with 1,000 points awarded for each billfish tagged, and 10 points for each kg of gamefish caught.

Cairns boat Miss Nic made history winning the North Cairns, Townsville, and Innisfail tournaments, with skipper Stuart Wright named Champion Angler at all three events.

The tournament aims to encourage the sport of game fishing, spirit of sportsmanship, and good camaraderie, as well as encourage the ethic of tag and release fishing for sustainable use of the fisheries.

Results of the 2021 Innisfail Billfish Tournament were as follows:

Champion Boat (+7.5m): Miss Nic

Runner Up Boat (+7.5m): Geronimo
Champion Boat (-7.5m): Dun Deal

Runner Up Boat (-7.5m): Let Loose
Champion Skipper (+7.5m): Chris Miles
Champion Skipper (-7.5m): Anthony Dunlea
Champion Deckhand (+7.5m): Connor Lynch

Champion Deckhand (-7.5m): Kevin Foster
Highest Point Scoring Fish Other Than Billfish (+7.5m): Charles Manitto
Highest Point Scoring Fish Other Than Billfish (-7.5m): Davin Van Dorssen

Hard Luck Story: Nicholas Pervan

Champion Angler Day 1: Stuart Wright
Champion Angler Day 2: Carly Dunlea

Champion Angler Day 3: Storm Perkins
First Billfish Tagged Day 1: Will Miles
Last Billfish Tagged Day 1: Kevin Foster

First Billfish Tagged Day 2: Ben Heath

Last Billfish Tagged Day 2: Carly Dunlea
First Billfish Tagged Day 3: Storm Perkins
Last Billfish Tagged Day 3: Stuart Wright
Albert Pagano Memorial Trophy Encouragement Award: Davin Van Dorssen
Simon De Luca Memorial Trophy: Danny Alcock
Champion Visiting Angler: Stuart Wright:
Champion Junior Angler: Will Miles

Runner Up Junior Angler: Carly Dunlea
Champion Female Angler: Tahlia Riggs
Champion Male Angler: Stuart Wright

Runner Up Male Angler: Charles Manitto

Champion Angler IGFC/Champion Overall Angler: Stuart Wright

Event organisers wished to thank all competitors, and, in particular, the sponsors, as the tournament would not be possible without their valued support.

Special thanks went to the committee for all their time and help to organise the event, the weigh master, and everyone involved behind the scenes to make the event a success. 

More News